
                

                              

                        
                         

                  

                        
               

                          
                      

                             
                             

                        

                       
                       

                    
                         

                

                               

 
              

          

      

      

          
                 

            

    
                  

                
            

 

 

     

    

    

  

    

        
    

  

  

        

        

        

        

        

    

    

    

    

    

                    

                         

                               

                        

 
 

 

             
              

               

      

 
      

     
      

        

  
                   

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services – Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

CONFIDENTIAL DHHS Incident and Death Report CONFIDENTIAL 

Provider Agency Name Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number. 

This form is used to report Level II and Level III incidents, including deaths and restrictive interventions, involving any person receiving publicly funded mental health, developmental 
disabilities and/or substance abuse (MH/DD/SA) services. Facilities licensed under G.S. 122C (except hospitals) and unlicensed providers of community-based MH/DD/SA services must 
submit the form, as required by North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 27G .0600, 26C .0300, and 27E .0104(e)(18). Failure to complete this form may result in administrative 
actions against the provider’s license and/or authorization to receive public funding. This form may also be used for internal documentation of Level I incidents, if required by provider 
policy or LME contract. Effective March 8, 2006, this form replaces the DHHS Incident and Death Report (Form QM02, Revised 11/18/04). 

Instructions: Complete and submit this form to the local and/or state agencies responsible for oversight within 72 hours of learning of the 
incident (See page 3 for details). Report deaths of consumers that occur within 7 days of restraint or seclusion immediately. 
If requested information is unavailable, provide an explanation on the form and report the additional information as soon as possible. 

Page 1-2 Instructions: The staff person who is most knowledgeable about the incident should complete pages 1-2 of this form as soon as possible 
after learning of the incident and submit to the unit supervisor for review and approval. 

Date of Incident: Time of Incident: a.m. p.m. Unknown 

C
O

N
S

U
M

E
R

IN
F

O
R

M
A

T
IO

N Consumer’s Date of Birth: 

All Diagnoses: 

Consumer’s Gender: Male Female 

Consumer’s Ethnicity (Check all that apply): 

Hispanic/Latino Native American Asian/Pacific Islander 
White/Anglo Black/African American Other (specify): 

Does consumer receive CAP/MR-DD Waiver services? Yes No Unknown 

OTHER PEOPLE INVOLVED 
(Provide the name of the person and his/her relationship to the consumer that is the subject of the 
report. Do not provide the name or other identifying information for other consumers in this 
section. Instead indicate the number of other consumers who were involved.) 

O
th

er

C
o

n
su

m
er

S
ta

ff

O
th

er
 LOCATION OF INCIDENT 

Provider premises 

Consumer’s legal residence 

Community 

Other (specify) 

(such as hospital, state 
institution, etc.) 

Unknown 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

Name / title of first staff person to learn of incident 

Was the consumer under the care of the reporting provider at the time of the incident? Yes No 

Was the consumer treated by a licensed health care professional for the incident? Yes No Date: 

Was the consumer hospitalized for the incident? Yes No Date: 

D
E

S
C

R
IP

T
IO

N
 O

F
 IN

C
ID

E
N

T

Describe the incident, including Who, What, When, Where, and How. (Describe any preceding 
circumstances, resulting harm to people, property damage, and any other relevant information. Attach 
additional pages if needed. Do not provide another consumer’s name or identifying information here.) 

INJURY 

On the figures below, circle the 
location of any bruises, cuts, 
scratches, injuries, or other marks that 
occurred as a result of the incident. 

FRONT BACK 

NOTE: Incident reports are confidential quality assurance documents, protected by GS 122C-30, 122C-31, 122C-191 and 122C-192. Do not file incident reports in the 
consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is protected under Federal regulations, 42 CFR Part 2 and HIPAA, 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Form QM02 Effective October, 2004 - Rev. 3/8/06 Page 1 of 6 



                

                              

                        
                         

                  

                        
               

  

                                    

                          

            

                   

            

                

                            

                       

                      

                                                           

  

     

      

     

     

                  

          

            
           

                

   

 
 

  

  

      
   

   

   

   

  

    

    

          

  
    

      

      

       

       
       

         
      

         

  

       
   

    

     

       
    

     

 

  
   

    

        
   

      

      

     

  
   

                      

       

           

             
              

      

 

        

                      

                               

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services – Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

CONFIDENTIAL DHHS Incident and Death Report CONFIDENTIAL 

Provider Agency Name Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number. 

T
Y

P
E

 O
F

 IN
C

ID
E

N
T

 

CONSUMER DEATH 

Death due to: SUICIDE ACCIDENT HOMICIDE / VIOLENCE Terminal illness / natural cause Unknown cause 

Did death occur within 7 days of the restrictive intervention? Yes No If yes, immediately submit this form to your supervisor. 

DETAILS OF DEATH REPORTABLE TO NC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Complete this section only for deaths from suicide, accident, or homicide/violence or occurring within 7 days of restrictive intervention. 

Address where consumer died: 

Physical illnesses / conditions diagnosed prior to death: 

Dates of last two (2) medical exams: Unknown None 

Date of most recent admission to a hospital for physical illness: Unknown None 

Date of most recent admission to an inpatient MH/DD/SAS facility: Unknown None 

Height: ft in Unknown Weight: lbs Unknown Adjudicated incompetent? Yes No 

RESTRICTIVE INTERVENTION 

(Number in order of use) 

Physical Restraint 

Isolation 

Seclusion 

Is the use of restrictive intervention part of the consumer’s Individual Service Plan? Yes No 

Was the restrictive intervention administered appropriately? Yes No 

Did the use of restrictive intervention(s) result in discomfort, complaint, or 
require treatment by a licensed health professional? Yes No 

Attach a Restrictive Intervention Details Report (Form QM03) or a provider agency form with comparable information. 

OTHER INCIDENT 

INJURY ABUSE ALLEGATION MEDICATION ERROR 

Report injuries requiring treatment by a (Check all that apply) Report errors that threaten health or safety 
licensed health professional 

Alleged abuse of a consumer (Check only one) 
(Check only one) 

Injury due to: Alleged neglect of a consumer Wrong dosage administered 

Aggressive behavior Alleged exploitation of a consumer Wrong medication administered 

Self-injury/mutilation Report any alleged or suspected case of 
Wrong time (administered more than one 
hour from prescribed time) 

Trip or fall abuse, neglect or exploitation of a consumer, 
as required by law, to the county Dept. of Missed dosage (including refusals) 

Auto accident Social Services and the DFS Healthcare 
Personnel Registry, as well as the host LME. 

Other (specify) 

CONSUMER BEHAVIOR OTHER INCIDENT 
(Check only one) (Check only one) 

Suicide attempt 
Suspension of a consumer from services [Enter number of days ]

Report the following whenever a report to legal 
authorities is made: Expulsion of a consumer from services 

Inappropriate or illegal sexual behavior Fire that threatens or impairs a consumer’s health or safety 

Illegal acts by a consumer Unplanned consumer absence more than 3 hours over time allowed in the 
Person Centered Plan or service plan (where absence is restricted by the plan) or 

Other consumer behavior absence reported to legal authorities 

Name/title of staff person documenting incident (Please print): 

Phone ( ) 

Signature ________________________________________________________ Date Time a.m. p.m. 

NOTE: Incident reports are confidential quality assurance documents, protected by GS 122C-30, 122C-31, 122C-191 and 122C-192. Do not file incident reports in the 
consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is protected under Federal regulations, 42 CFR Part 2 and HIPAA, 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Form QM02 Effective October, 2004 - Rev. 3/8/06 Page 2 of 6 



                

                              

                        
                         

                  

                        
               

                         
                        

 
                       

                            

                                   

                            

                                

 
 

 

   
 

     
   

  
   

   
     

   
    

   
  

    

                 
                     

       
    
             

       

              

                   
                
            

       
            

      

 
  

                         
           

      

          

 
 

   

          

          

   

          

      

    

    

   

     

         

  

      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      

 

             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             

             

  

        
        
        
        
        
        
        
        
        

        

 

       

                      

                               

Page 3 Instructions: The supervisor of the service should review pages 1-2 of this form, complete page 3 and submit to required agencies in the 
required timeframes. Use Criteria on page 5 to determine the level of incident. Refer to the Incident Response Manual for further details. 

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services – Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

CONFIDENTIAL DHHS Incident and Death Report CONFIDENTIAL 

Provider Agency Name Consumer’s Name	 LME Client Record Number. 

P
R

O
V

ID
E

R
R

E
P

O
R

T
IN

G
 IN

F
O

R
M

A
T

IO
N

P
R

O
V

ID
E

R
 R

E
S

P
O

N
S

E
L

E
V

E
L

 O
F

 IN
C

ID
E

N
T

 
IN

F
O

R
M

A
T

IO
N

Facility / Unit Facility /Unit Director:
 

Service address: City: County
 

Facility /Unit Phone Number: ( ) Provider Tax ID or Social Security No.:
 

Service being provided at time of incident:
 Residential Non-residential (specify) N/A 

122C-Licensed service? No Yes (License No.)	 If yes, note reporting instructions for Level III below. 

Describe the cause of the incident (attach additional pages if needed): 

Describe how this type of incident may be prevented in the future and any corrective measures that have been or will be put in place 

Level II 
(Moderate) 

Send this form to the 
host LME (LME 
responsible for 
geographic area where 
service is provided) 
within 72 hours. If 
required by contract, 
also report to the 
consumer’s home LME 
if different. 

as a result of the incident (attach additional pages if needed): 

Indicate authorities or persons notified of the incident (as applicable): 

Agency / Person	 Contact Name 

Host LME 

Home LME 

Law enforcement 

County DSS 

Health Care Personnel Registry 

Service Plan Team 

Parent / Guardian 

NC DMH/DD/SAS 

NC DFS Complaint Unit 

Other 

Name/title of supervisor authorizing report (Please print): 

Signature ________________________________________________________ 

Level III (High) 

Immediately report verbally to the host LME. Convene an incident review committee within 24 hours if services 
were being actively provided at time of incident. (See manual for details.) Send this form within 72 hours to: 
�	 host LME (see bottom of page) 
�	 consumer’s home LME 
�	 NC Division of MH/DD/SAS, Quality Management Team, 3004 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-3004. 

Voice: (919) 733-0696, Fax: (919) 715-3604 

NOTE: Report deaths that occur within 7 days of seclusion or restraint immediately. 

NOTE: If the service is licensed under G.S.122C, also use the same deadlines to report death from suicide, 
accident, or homicide/violence and deaths occurring within 7 days of restraint or seclusion, to the NC 
Division of Facility Services, Complaint Intake Unit, 2711 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-2711 
Voice: 1-800-624-3004 Fax: 1-919-715-7724 

Phone	 Notification Date 

( )
 
( )
 
( )
 
( )
 
( )
 
( )
 
( )
 
( )
 
( )
 

( )
 

Phone ( ) 

Date Time a.m. p.m. 

NOTE: Incident reports are confidential quality assurance documents, protected by GS 122C-30, 122C-31, 122C-191 and 122C-192. Do not file incident reports in the 
consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is protected under Federal regulations, 42 CFR Part 2 and HIPAA, 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Form QM02 Effective October, 2004 - Rev. 3/8/06	 Page 3 of 6 



                

                              

                        
                         

                  

                        
               

                        
                  

      

            

   

      

      

      

 
 

 

       

                      

                               

 
 

 

 

      

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services – Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

CONFIDENTIAL DHHS Incident and Death Report CONFIDENTIAL 

Provider Agency Name Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number. 

Page 4 Instructions: This page is available for the provider agency or any agencies receiving the report to use for internal tracking and follow-up 
purposes. Leave this page blank when sending an incident report to the LME and/or other agencies.. 

INCIDENT TRACKING (for internal use only) 

IN
T

E
R

N
A

L
 U

S
E

 O
N

L
Y

 

Incident Report Receipt Date: 

Current Consumer Status: 

LME’s (or Other Oversight Agency’s) Response: 

Name/title of follow-up staff person (Please print): 

Phone ( ) 

Signature ________________________________________________________ Date Time a.m. p.m. 

IN
T

E
R

N
A

L
 U

S
E

 O
N

L
Y

 

Notes: 

NOTE: Incident reports are confidential quality assurance documents, protected by GS 122C-30, 122C-31, 122C-191 and 122C-192. Do not file incident reports in the 
consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is protected under Federal regulations, 42 CFR Part 2 and HIPAA, 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Form QM02 Effective October, 2004 - Rev. 3/8/06 Page 4 of 6 



                

          

                      
                      

                     

                             
                        
                          

         

         

 
   

 

  

     
  

   

  

  

    

  

  

     
    

   
  

     
      

     
    

    
   

     

 
   

   

  

   
 
  

 
  

  
 

    
   

 
      

  
    

   
    

   
    

   

  
   

    
  

    

   
   

   
    

  

 
   

   
  
    
   
    

 

   
   

   
  

 
   

  
 

    
    

    
     
     

   

     
   

  
    
     

    
   

 

  
  

    
    
   

    
  

 

   

   

  
 

 

    
    

     
  

   
  

    
    

    
   

 
   

    
     

    
 

   
  

     
     

     
    

    
   

     
 

   
   

   
   

   
   

 
   

  

     
    

    
   

    

     
   

  

 
 

  

  

    
   
 

   
  

            
           

    
   

   
  

    
     

     
    

    
    

  

     
   

    
    

 

                                                                  
                                                          
         

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services – Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

DHHS Criteria for Determining Level of Response to Incidents 
Incidents are events that are inconsistent with the routine operation of a service or care of a consumer that are likely to lead to adverse effects. Providers must report 
incidents, as defined below, that occur while a consumer is under their care. Individuals receiving residential and ACT Team services are considered under the 
provider’s care 24 hours a day. Individuals receiving day services and periodic services are considered under the provider’s care while a staff person is actively 
engaged in providing a service. See Manual for details. 

EVENT LEVEL I LEVEL II LEVEL III1 EXCEPTIONS 

C
O

N
S

U
M

E
R

 D
E

A
T

H
 Consumer Death 

--------------------­

Due to: 

- Terminal illness or other 
natural cause 

- Unknown cause 

Due to: 

- Suicide 

- Violence / homicide 

- Accident 

Or occurring: 

- Within 7 days of 
seclusion or restraint 

• Providers of non­
residential services 
should report as soon as 
they learn of death. 

• Review of Level III 
incidents within 24 hours 
needed only if actively 
engaged in providing 
service at time of death. 

R
E

S
T

R
IC

T
IV

E
 IN

T
E

R
V

E
N

T
IO

N Seclusion 

Isolated time-out 

Restraint 

Any planned use 
administered 
appropriately and 
without 
discomfort, 
complaint, or 
injury2 

1. Any emergency, 
unplanned use 

OR 
2. Any planned use that 

exceeds authorized 
limits, is administered by 
an unauthorized person, 
results in discomfort or 
complaint, or requires 
treatment by a licensed 
health professional 

Any restrictive 
intervention that results 
in permanent physical or 
psychological impairment 
within 7 days 

Providers will submit 
aggregate numbers of 
Level I restrictive 
interventions to the host 
LME quarterly.2 

C
O

N
S

U
M

E
R

 IN
JU

R
Y Due to: 

- Aggressive behavior 
- Self-injury/mutilation 
- Trip or fall 
- Auto accident 
- Other / unknown 

cause 

Any injury that 
requires only first 
aid, as defined 
by OSHA 
guidelines2 

(regardless of who 
provides the 
treatment) 

Any injury that requires 
treatment by a licensed 
health professional (such as 
MD, RN, or LPN) beyond 
first aid, as defined by 
OSHA guidelines2 

Any injury that results in 
permanent physical or 
psychological impairment 
and any allegation of 
rape or sexual assault by 
someone other than a 
staff member or 
caregiver 

Providers of non­
residential services 
should report Level II 
incidents only if actively 
engaged in providing 
service at time of 
incident 

A
B

U
S

E
 

Abuse of consumer 

Neglect of consumer 

Exploitation of 
consumer 

--------------------­

Any allegation of abuse, 
neglect or exploitation of 
consumer by staff or other 
adult, including 
inappropriate touching or 
sexual behavior 

Any allegation of abuse, 
neglect or exploitation of 
consumer that results in 
permanent physical or 
psychological 
impairment, arrest, or 
involves an allegation of 
rape or sexual assault by 
a staff member or 
caregiver 

• Providers of non­
residential services 
should report as soon as 
they learn of allegation. 

• Review of Level III 
incidents within 24 hours 
needed only if actively 
engaged in providing 
service at time of alleged 
incident. 

M
E

D
 E

R
R

O
R

 

Wrong dose 

Wrong medication 

Wrong time (over 1 
hour from prescribed 
time) 

Missed dose or 
medication refusal 

Any error that 
does not threaten 
the consumer’s 
health or safety 
(as determined by 
the physician or 
pharmacist 
notified of the 
error) 

Any error that threatens the 
consumer’s health or safety 
(as determined by the 
physician or pharmacist 
notified of the error) 

Any error that results in 
permanent physical or 
psychological impairment 

• Providers of periodic 
services should report 
errors for consumers 
who self-administer 
medications as soon as 
learning of the incident. 

• Review of Level III 
incidents within 24 hours 
needed only if actively 
providing service at time 
of incident. 

• All providers will submit 
aggregate numbers of 
Level I medication errors 
to the host LME 
quarterly.2 

NOTE: Report all drug administration errors and adverse drug reactions to a 
physician or pharmacist immediately, as required by 10A NCAC 27G .0209(h). 

Providers should notify the host and home LMEs by phone upon learning of any Level III incident, even if not actively providing service at the time of the incident. 
2 See Manual for details. 
NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is 

protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Guide for Form QM02 Effective October, 2004 – Rev. 3/8/06 Page 5 of 6 
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North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services – Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

DHHS Criteria for Determining Level of Response to Incidents 
EVENT LEVEL I LEVEL II LEVEL III1 EXCEPTIONS 

C
O

N
S

U
M

E
R

 B
E

H
A

V
IO

R
 

Suicidal behavior Any suicidal 
threat or 
verbalization that 
indicates new, 
different or 
increased 
behavior 

Any suicide attempt Any suicide attempt that 
results in permanent 
physical or psychological 
impairment 

Do not report previous 
suicide attempts by 
persons seeking 
services through the 
LME Access unit or for 
whom inpatient 
commitment is being 
sought. 

Sexual behavior Inappropriate 
sexual behavior 
that does not 
involve a report 
to law 
enforcement or 
complaint to an 
oversight agency 

Any sexual behavior that 
involves a report to law 
enforcement, a complaint 
to an oversight agency, or 
a potentially serious threat 
to the health or safety of 
self or others 

Any sexual behavior that 
results in death, 
permanent physical or 
psychological 
impairment, arrest of the 
consumer, or public 
scrutiny (as determined by 
the host LME) 

-----------------------------­

Consumer act Any aggressive 
or destructive act 
that does not 
involve a report 
to law 
enforcement or 
complaint to an 
oversight agency 

Any aggressive or 
destructive act that involves 
a report to law 
enforcement, a complaint 
to an oversight agency, or 
a potentially serious threat 
to the health or safety of 
self or others 

Any aggressive or 
destructive act reported 
to law enforcement or an 
oversight agency that 
results in death, 
permanent physical or 
psychological 
impairment, or public 
scrutiny (as determined by 
the host LME) 

-----------------------------­

Consumer absence Any absence of 0 
to 3 hours over 
the time specified 
in the service 
plan, if police 
contact is not 
required 

Any absence greater than 3 
hours over the time 
specified in the individual’s 
service plan or any 
absence that requires 
police contact 

-----------------------------­

Report absences of 
competent adult 
consumers receiving 
non-residential services 
only if police contact is 
required. 

O
T

H
E

R
 

Suspension from 
services 

Expulsion from 
services 

Any provider 
withdrawal of 
services for less 
than one day for 
consumer 
misconduct 

Any provider withdrawal of 
services for one day or 
more for consumer 
misconduct -----------------------------­ -----------------------------­

Fire Any fire with no 
threat to the 
health or safety 
of consumers or 
others 

Any fires that threatens the 
health or safety of 
consumers or others 

Any fire that results in 
permanent physical or 
psychological impairment 
or public scrutiny (as 
determined by the host 
LME) 

-----------------------------­

Search and seizure Any 

-----------------------------­ -----------------------------­

All providers will submit 
aggregate numbers of 
searches and seizures 
to the host LME 
quarterly.2 

Confidentiality breach Any 
-----------------------------­ -----------------------------­ -----------------------------­

Direct questions to: ContactDMHQuality@ncmail.net Phone: (919) 733-0696 

1. 
Providers should notify the host and home LMEs by phone upon learning of any Level III incident, even if not actively providing service at the time of the incident. 
See Manual for details. 

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is 
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Guide for Form QM02 Effective October, 2004 – Rev. 3/8/06 Page 6 of 6 
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